Advice greatly appreciated! (cGPA: 2.88), (L2: 2.88), (B3: 3.39), (LSAT: TBD)

mynamehere.esq

mynamehere.esq
  • Applicant

Hi there, I'm currently studying for the LSAT. I did very well in my undergraduate program (in the beginning). I was on the President's List and Honours List multiple times. At one point my GPA was 4.25 (on the 4.3 scale). However, my mother became incredibly ill about halfway through my degree and believe it or not she was actually turned away from our Canadian health care system because they couldn't help her. This, led my family to seek treatment for her in the US. During this time she made me promise her not to take any time off of school because understandably she wanted me to have something to focus on and keep me busy aside from worrying about her 24/7. But, that obviously didn't turn out so well. I kept my promise by staying enrolled....but, I truly couldn't cope with school. I continued to withdrawal from my courses and there were a few courses that I actually forgot to withdrawal from in time because I was so caught up with my mother. The courses I forgot to withdrawal from resulted in me failing those classes and receiving an F on my transcript. Fast forwarding a bit, once my mother was more stable after her surgery I was able to refocus on school and finally complete what felt like (and was) the forever and never ending degree. In my final few terms I managed to bring my grades back up to B+'s, A's and A+'s. However, I wasn't able to bring my overall GPA back up to where it originally was. I'm incredibly concerned about applying for law school... because of how bad my transcript looks and the likelihood of being classified as a "splitter" considering if I achieve a great score on the LSAT. I've been putting an immense amount of pressure on myself with studying in order to do well on the LSAT. I feel terrible about how my grades turned out, but if I had to go through this again, I would have done the same thing. Family is the most i