UBC vs UofT for PI/Social Justice

Orenjio

Orenjio
  • Law School Admit

Hi everyone, I'm an international student and did my undergrad in the State, so I don't know a lot about Canada and would appreciate some input! Not interseted in corplaw at all. Also not planning to go the criminal law route. Rough goal would be doing some transactional/compliance work for nonprofits. 

As I don't have any connections in Vancouver or Toronto, I really don't have a preference for where to practice in the future. (My undergrad is also in a very cold place so the Toronto weather wouldn't bother me too much, though Vancouver weather could be nice.) Cost difference is also fortunately not a concern for me. I've heard people say that the Toronto market is bigger but I guess that's talking about biglaw and not PI opportunities. So I guess main criteria would be which has a better institutional support and local market for PI students.

Thank you all in advance : ) Maybe I'll see some of you on campus this fall! 

Pendragon
  • Lawyer

https://canlawforum.com/topic/1704-how-difficult-is-it-to-get-a-job-in-toronto-from-an-out-of-province-school/?do=findComment&comment=17442

https://www.law.utoronto.ca/student-life/career-development-office/career-statistics

U of T placed 11% in Government and Public Interest and UBC placed 1.11% in Public Interest / Social Justice/ Human Rights. Many of these jobs were likely with the crown prosecutor offices. 

I'm not sure what you mean by transactional/compliance work for nonprofits since that sounds like corporate law to me, but I wouldn't base this decision strictly on PI and social justice careers. Most people from both these schools don't go into that. And it's probably not because they don't want to. 

Orenjio
  • Law School Admit
1 hour ago, Pendragon said:

https://canlawforum.com/topic/1704-how-difficult-is-it-to-get-a-job-in-toronto-from-an-out-of-province-school/?do=findComment&comment=17442