What can i do before law school that will actually prepare/help me for the next three years?

vans

Hey so I am an international student about to start law school this fall, and I wanted to get some advice on how to spend the last few months before starting law school.

I quit my job so I have a lot of time on my hands. I've heard from some people that the best way to prepare for law school is to enjoy the last few months before all the stress begins, but I was wondering if there were other productive things to do. Is there a way I can get a head start on the studies? Anything I should know that would have helped you out if you were a 1L?

Any insight is appreciated!

Rashabon
  • Lawyer

There are a lot of threads about this on the forum. I suggest reading through those. The people who told you to just relax and not do anything are right. The only things worth doing are not law school related - find a routine that works for you to maintain your health (fitness or diet or whatever), find hobbies that you can engage in outside of law school and get all your medical and dental and related shit up to date.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Darth Vader
  • Lawyer

Getting ahead in your studies is pointless since you don't know who will be teaching your first year courses and the course syllabus. One thing I would suggest is maybe getting experience in a field you are looking to go into. For example, if your goal is corporate law, then maybe get some business experience. It doesn't have to be in law specifically. If your goal is to work in government or public interest, then maybe volunteer at an NGO. 

Reading, writing, and practicing your typing is always good.

Or you can just relax and maintain your physical and mental fitness.

LMP
  • Articling Student
37 minutes ago, vans said:

Hey so I am an international student about to start law school this fall, and I wanted to get some advice on how to spend the last few months before starting law school.