How to ask for days off as an intern

friedpotato

friedpotato
  • Law Student

I'm currently a 1L intern at a big law firm. 

I have a couple days off officially according to HR, but I need to get it approved first by the partners. I want to take the days off (non-medical reasons). Is this appropriate? How do I start this conversation with the partner without pissing her off? 

Thanks. 

QueensDenning
  • Articling Student

Does anyone know if 2L summer students get vacation time at the big firms? If so, how many days ? 

• Like 1

Ben
  • Law Student
16 minutes ago, QueensDenning said:

Does anyone know if 2L summer students get vacation time at the big firms? If so, how many days ? 

You could check NALP to do more thorough research than I just did, but most firms that discuss vacation time at all only mention it with respect to articling students, which makes me think that the answer is no for 2Ls. Anecdotally, I have never heard of a summer student taking vacation days. 

• Like 2

SlytherinLLP
  • Lawyer
1 hour ago, QueensDenning said:

Unless something has changed since I summered, there is no vacation time for summer students at my firm or for colleagues at other Bay Street firms. 

Edited by SlytherinLLP
  • Like 1

Goblin King
  • Law Student
9 minutes ago, SlytherinLLP said:

As an articling student you are entitled to 1 vacation day per month according to LSO rules. 

Is taking the vacation day(s) offered by a firm generally discouraged? 

• Like 1

SlytherinLLP
  • Lawyer
15 minutes ago, Goblin King said:

I've edited the above since what I said was not entirely accurate re: vacation days. 

Most Bay Street firms will provide 10 days of vacation. That is the maximum vacation entitlement allowed by the LSO (one day/month) to fulfil the articling placement requirement.