Graduate school confusion

sailormoonserenity

sailormoonserenity
  • Applicant

I’ve been accepted to Windsor in this cycle (single and dual JD), rejected from Ryerson and UofT, and still waiting to hear from Osgoode, Queen’s, Ottawa and Western. I will likely decline my offer at Windsor Law. I would really prefer to go to Osgoode as I did my undergraduate degree at Western, and I'd like to live in Toronto, not have to be long distance with my boyfriend for another three years, and I hope to take advantage of the opportunities I would have at Osgoode in my field of interest (international human rights law). I’m hoping to go into international human rights law, or criminal law in an international setting, maybe policymaking and work for the UN or ICC down the line.

Given that I have not heard back from Osgoode yet and assuming I am potentially going to be waitlisted/rejected, should I a) stay at Western for another year, raise my GPA and reapply? OR b) apply to a master's program? 

I'll have a cGPA of around 3.3~3.4 at the end of this semester, L2 3.7, B3 3.7, with an LSAT score of 164 (87th percentile). I’m considering a minor (for one year) in Transitional Justice at Western as my backup plan because it’s in my field of interest and would allow me to raise my GPA. The master’s programs in question are MPP/MPA/MGA/MIA programs. I was accepted to the MGA at UofT, and they have a partnership with LSE where I could do an MPA there for a year (a two-year program). There are also some really cool dual master’s programs with Bocconi, LSE, Sciences Po Paris and other European schools, but a lot of the deadlines are over for these programs.