Student life as a commuting student at Osgoode?

Rango416

Rango416
  • Law School Admit

Hey! As a student living in Toronto and (like many students) planning on commuting to campus during 1L next year, I was wondering: how's student life as a commuting student at Osgoode? 

I'm really excited about all of the school's academic and professional benefits such as its abundance of clinics and course offerings alongside its connection to Toronto firms. Also, after touring the campus, I was super impressed with Osgoode's building and facilities. However, as a Toronto resident, I am a bit worried that the campus's removed location (relative to downtown) and reputation as a "commuter-school" may offer a very different experience compared to other schools located in the heart of downtown (UofT, McGill, etc.) or centred in a university town (Queen's, Western, etc.) Additionally, I'm a bit worried that the school's larger student body might also offer a very different community network compared to other schools. I'm totally aware that law school is a very rigorous and focused time in your life, but I just want to make sure that the school will have opportunities to foster a close-knit community, make new friends, and have fun on/off campus as well!

All that said, I'm still super excited at the prospect of studying at Osgoode and I'd love to know your thoughts about Osgoode's student life and your overall satisfaction with your experience for better or worse!

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

Turtles
  • Law Student

This has been rehashed in previous posts. What I will add is that many social events (formal and informal) are hosted in Toronto (especially downtown) due to the dearth of cool venues actually on campus. There's a pretty rich social life for those living on campus, but that doesn't eliminate opportunities available to everyone who wants to participate. 

Bp123
  • Applicant