Academic references

applicant88

applicant88
  • Law School Admit

Hi everyone,

I am seeking more information about academic references and what is appropriate. I am a distance education student at Athabasca University and completing my undergraduate degree. In my opinion, I don't feel like I can have strong references from here as I never really interact with my professors outside of a few emails and my profs are most often different. I know that they can speak to my grades and academic performance, however they don't know me personally. Is this just the norm in undergraduate studies?

I did complete a 2 year college level diploma and had a mentor all throughout that program. Would law schools consider that an academic reference and would that be more favorable as the mentor can provide a thorough reflection about me as a student and provide more of a rounded reference?

Any other suggestions would help. Thanks!

• Like 1

nitzy
  • Law School Admit

I don't have an alternative suggestion per se, but I did my undergrad at AU as well. I explained to the prof of one of my courses, whom I had not interacted with in person, only via email, that I was planning to apply to law school and asked if she would be willing to be an academic reference. She requested a copy of my personal statement to get a better idea of my past experience and interests. Despite the barrier of not being able to interact in person, the reference letter she provided was great - at least as good as I would have expected to get from a brick & mortar university, if not better. Bottom line, I would encourage you to check in with your prof(s) anyway and see if they would be willing. 

• Like 1

applicant88
  • Law School Admit
43 minutes ago, nitzy said: