I have an M.A., a PhD, and a bad undergraduate record

tad_ekam

tad_ekam
  • Applicant

Hello. 

I want to go to law school. I have a PhD in a social sciences discipline from an R1 institution in the US. It's reasonably prestigious. I have an M.A. from a Canadian university. And I have a pretty bad undergraduate record (3.04 cgpa, 3.09 L2, 3.4 B3). I graduated with a bachelor's in 2004, so this was a while ago.

The question is, should I bother applying to law school in Canada? Will my graduate education matter? If so, how much? I advanced on the basis of some professors knowing me & seeing some talent--and I did succeed. But I'm reading that Canadian law schools emphasise undergraduate education. I know I can write my application around these grades by stressing my subsequent educational & professional successes, but I also know this might not outweigh a pretty bad undergraduate record.

BTW I probably won't qualify for mature student status. I miss out on the 5-year minimum by about 13 months because I worked while finishing my PhD.

Thank you!

Edited by tad_ekam

LMP
  • Articling Student

No one can speak to the issue with any real certainty but I feel as though your advanced education when coupled with a strong LSAT score and a compelling personal statement (perhaps addressing the low undergrad marks and explaining how you've more than demonstrated an academic aptitude) will carry you through. 

Also, I believe some schools (I think UofA or UofC?) take your graduate degree marks into account. But you'd have to double check that. 

• Like 1

If you have over 5 years of work experience, you can apply Mature at Toronto. For Queens/Western, you can apply mature, too. Not certain of their pre-reqs for that category. UBC you can apply discretionary.

Utilize there categories and leverage all the additional attributes you have post-undergrad to see what your chances are like.

By chance, do you have an LSAT score?