Older Academic Records

found.antlers

found.antlers
  • Applicant

Hello, I am currently studying for my LSAT and will be writing my test this June. I am also starting the process of compiling all of the required components of the law school application. I have a question regarding older academic records and how I should address them in my application.

I will applying as a mature student with work experience I also completed college in my 20's and completed University in my 30's, and did very well in terms of my grades.

However. I did attend University directly out of high school and it was a disaster as some extenuating circumstances occurred that resulted in me leaving mid semester. I didn't drop out I simply stopped attending and I'm assuming received F's in all of my courses. Now this was many years ago and I'm not sure if the academic records would still even exist.  I'm just not sure if I should declare this attendance on my application and then have to waste valuable space on my PE accounting for and essentially pleading my case as to why or if I should just omit it completely? I would inquire with the University directly but I worry that would somehow cause my academic records to be found on the off chance that they are languishing somewhere in some old computer database.

applicant88
  • Law School Admit

I am going through something kind of similar. Unfortunately, I think most schools will still count those credits if they are informed. Some schools appear to look at your best last two years of post-secondary undergraduate level but it really depends on the school you are applying to. I would suggest reaching out to academic advisors of the schools you're applying to and asking about their process.

I wouldn't recommend leaving any records out of your application but if anyone else can advise on this please inform me.