Is taking pass/fail option on a course damaging for admissions?

Seansei

Seansei
  • Law Student

I am majoring in computer science and I have taken some very unnecessarily difficult theoretical courses, my grades in which do not reflect my academic performance otherwise. Since the beginning of the pandemic, my university began offering alternate grading options: if you passed, you can get a P on the transcript which will remove the numeric grade from GPA calculations; if you failed, you can do the same with an F or a VW (voluntary withdrawal after the fact). For one such course last semester that I got a 55 in, I took the P for the first time (to keep my overall average around 85%). This previous semester, I finished with the following grades (all fourth-year major courses): 70, 91, 92, 100. My average this term was 89.0, but with that 70 removed it would be a 94.3.

Considering the fact that I already have taken one 'P' on a course, would another look bad to law school admissions? I am leaning towards doing it this term, but I would consider any cautions against doing so.

Ital
  • Law School Admit
43 minutes ago, Seansei said:

I am majoring in computer science and I have taken some very unnecessarily difficult theoretical courses, my grades in which do not reflect my academic performance otherwise. Since the beginning of the pandemic, my university began offering alternate grading options: if you passed, you can get a P on the transcript which will remove the numeric grade from GPA calculations; if you failed, you can do the same with an F or a VW (voluntary withdrawal after the fact). For one such course last semester that I got a 55 in, I took the P for the first time (to keep my overall average around 85%). This previous semester, I finished with the following grades (all fourth-year major courses): 70, 91, 92, 100. My average this term was 89.0, but with that 70 removed it would be a 94.3.