Chances; cGPA: 3.80, L2: 3.93, B3: 3.89

profanebrain

profanebrain
  • Applicant

Hey all! I'm a bit of a nontraditional applicant, so it's been hard to figure out my chances just from looking at numbers alone. Some notes:

* Haven't taken my LSAT yet, which probably just makes this a guessing game, but it'll be helpful to know what [realistic] score I should be aiming for. I haven't found LR or RC to be very challenging from the practice tests I've done, but games will need a bit of work. I purchased access to 7sage to help me through this and will be testing in September. 
* As the title states, undergrad GPAs: cGPA: 3.80, L2: 3.93, B3: 3.89. I graduated five years ago. 

Possible softs? I tried my best to figure out what the heck a softs "tier" is, but I don't think any of these are "tier 1" since I didn't cure cancer or anything. 
* Did my undergrad in the states and won a state university-wide award that went to 180 students out of the 400,000+ in the system. Also won the top award for a graduating senior in my major that is awarded based on a combination of academics, leadership, and service. 
* Mastered out of a STEM PhD with a 3.30 graduate GPA. I've heard mixed responses about whether this will help or hurt me. A big reason why I dropped out is because I was in an accident that rendered me disabled, and I'm very much on the fence as to whether that's something I'd like to disclose on apps. 
* Eight+ years of experience working in STEM research labs, which got me three peer-reviewed publications and several conference presentations. These numbers and experiences obviously don't matter much for law school, but I was going to use this to sell my analytic and oral/written communication skills.