Dal vs. UNB

DebbieDowner

DebbieDowner
  • Applicant

Hi everyone,

I know that there has been some comparisons of these 2 schools before, but I was hoping for some more recent feedback.

I guess my question is pretty to the point: Is Dalhousie worth the almost $20k more in tuition over UNB?

I am from the Atlantic region, but am unsure where I want to end up, although staying close to home for school would be the ideal. I'm also a mature student (30), so this is an early career change for me and $20k extra is definitely not a small amount of extra debt to take on. I will mostly be supporting myself on my LOC, and maybe the occasional familial support (not expecting much in terms of student loans as my partner's income is fairly high).

I understand that Dal has a better national reach, OCIs, and perhaps more opportunities generally speaking as it's a bigger school, so I guess I'm wondering if the return on the investment is worth it (especially at my age).

• 4 months later...
Pittielynn
  • Law Student

Honestly, the schools are quite similar. Nearly identical course load in 1L other than Dal's intensive courses. Where they differ most is in upper year courses. Dal appears to have a larger selection and it has a substantial Criminal Law faculty so there is a lot to pick from there. It also has several certificate programs. 

Personally, I never considered UNB because I am a mature student as well and I was uninterested in uprooting my home and family. Of course, that's more difficult if you don't live in NB or NS... I can tell you what it's like to live in either province if you're curious. 

Phaedrus
  • Lawyer