Law School Admission

Abysinian

Abysinian
  • Applicant

Hello, Everyone  

I was hoping if someone can give me insight on the chances of getting admission to law schools with three years degree as opposed to four years degree.

Thank you in advance.

Abysinian
  • Applicant

I am in my third year at York Currently; I was referring to law schools on average, i.e., Windsor 

• Lawyer

No Honours degree, just Bachelor's? You need a high GPA and LSAT score to be competitive. 

Obligatory: in Ontario an Honour’s degree simply means a four year degree. Elsewhere it means a degree with some level of specialization involving required upper year courses. 

• Like 2

VitalGiraffe
  • Law Student
On 7/8/2021 at 11:14 PM, Hegdis said:

Obligatory: in Ontario an Honour’s degree simply means a four year degree. Elsewhere it means a degree with some level of specialization involving required upper year courses. 

Really? I don't think this is the case at Western.

Happy to be corrected. But I remember as a BC applicant in Ontario waaaaay back it confused the hell out of me. 

LMP
  • Articling Student
11 minutes ago, Hegdis said:

Happy to be corrected. But I remember as a BC applicant in Ontario waaaaay back it confused the hell out of me. 

At my school there was a difference. You could do a 4 year general degree which didn't require the specific upper level pre-reqs that an honours degree did.

Renerik
  • Law Student

Stolen from wikipedia

"In Canada there are two type of honours degree. Some universities, especially in Ontario, award honours after four years of undergraduate study, instead of the three years of a 'general' bachelor's degree. The degree Examples include Queen's University[21] and York University.[22] In those universities, honours students may undertake an honours thesis.[23][24]