Any advice for an international student?

Ossss

Ossss
  • Law Student

Hey everyone!

I am an international student and English is not my first language, so I'm trying to articulate my situation:)

Here is my background:

cGPA:3.6 LSAT:170

TOEFL:105

I wanna try to apply the U of T, and it seems less likely,because of my GPA. In fact, my university have a really strict standard on the score, I'm already in the top five of the 400 with the 3.6/4.0

So should I explain my situation to the university I wanna apply or how should I do this?

Really appreciate for your help:)

Edited by Reyooo

ProudCrocodile
  • Law School Admit

I'm also an international student with similar background info, top 10% of the class and 171 lsat, tho my university is less harsh and my gpa in 3.75/4.0 range(The best in my class got 3.78). But I will not even try U of T because of the financial pressure. Thinking of others schools. Want some advice from u folks in terms of explaining the GPA. 

Disbarred
  • Law Student

Considering mentioning it in a personal statement, but in a way that doesn’t come across as an excuse: “while doing so and so I managed to succeed at a high level in undergrad finishing 5th out of 400 students” 

• Thanks 1

Ossss
  • Law Student
10 hours ago, Licn said:

I'm also an international student with similar background info, top 10% of the class and 171 lsat, tho my university is less harsh and my gpa in 3.75/4.0 range(The best in my class got 3.78). But I will not even try U of T because of the financial pressure. Thinking of others schools. Want some advice from u folks in terms of explaining the GPA. 

Awesome!You can definitely get offers from the schools you want to go to!

8 hours ago, Disbarred said:

Considering mentioning it in a personal statement, but in a way that doesn’t come across as an excuse: “while doing so and so I managed to succeed at a high level in undergrad finishing 5th out of 400 students” 

That's a good method! Thanks for your help!