Is there a chance? LSAT 143; 3.56 CGPA;

johnlawschool

johnlawschool
  • Applicant

This is my first time applying to law school and I'm anxious to see that nearly everyone's scores are much better than mine. I applied in the general category.

I have 9 months of legal assistant experience, volunteer lots, and have a strong personal statement. However, I feel that my LSAT is embarrassingly low. This legal assistant job takes nearly all of my time and I feel like I can't adequately prepare for it. I worked hard for my CGPA, but it suffered due other things I had going on during university. 

I took this job to see if I would like working in law. I'm now convinced that this is the thing for me. Seeing acceptances on this forum and comparing my scores is making me doubt that I'm cut out for this. Any advice would be kindly appreciated. 

johnlawschool
  • Applicant
5 minutes ago, Hegdis said:

You need to get a much better LSAT score to have a chance. 

Thank you for the advice. I'll try my best to improve my score before the next cycle. 

tillandsia
  • Lawyer

Increasing your LSAT score as best you can is certainly advisable. However, I cannot say you lack a chance as there is hope for people who have trouble with the LSAT. It's not all about the hard stats with BLFL... There may be some internal thresholds that the school follows, but I'm unable to say to what degree. Some people with 166 LSATs are turned down for whatever other reason in their application.

I did meet one fellow law student with a 145 LSAT and a 3.55 CGPA who was accepted off the spring waitlist, general applicant. They had a connection with Thunder Bay, lived in the north, and had a lot of relevant work experience, which are things the school pays attention to. This person was also a brilliant and conscientious person who was very engaged throughout the school, so I'm sure their written application was strong.