Western VS OttawaU VS LASL, Please help!

Iwantsomeoffers

Iwantsomeoffers
  • Applicant

Hi everyone, I am still waiting for my top choice's response but I can't stop thinking about how to make a choice between the three offers I've got so far. I will start with my personal situation. So I am currently living in GTA with my child. If I choose LASL, I don't have to move. I do have more family from my husband's side in GTA but my husband and I are in the process of a seperation and I will have the full child custody.  I graduated from a Western U's M.A. program in 2019 and I am familiar with WesternU and its support systems - including a housing program to help single parents. Right now, I don't have any family from my side living in Canada. But I can probably get my parents here to help out when law school starts, however neither of them speak English and I know they will get bored easily in London, which will add on my stresses. 

English is my second langauge, and Toronto has the most populations who speak my mother tongue. I prefer to pursue Corporate Law with an international focus and has a goal for the BigLaws. But of course I am open to other opportunities as well. Although Toronto Biglaws is my goal, honestly speaking, I don't mind working and living in Ottawa after graduation if the opportunity is good. Which university would you choose if you are in my situation? 

LMP
  • Articling Student

There's a lot of things to balance here. Your career goals, your family, your living prefrances, I can see why it is a hard decision! 

If corporate big law is your goal (something that will have its own set of challenges) then Western is the way to go. The school has much stronger placement numbers than your other choices and a better overall focus on corporate law.