Did you bring a notebook/notes for recruit interview?

charliechoco

charliechoco
  • Law Student

I was wondering if it would be okay to bring a notebook with questions to ask or just to remember minor information incase I forget. 

BlockedQuebecois
  • Lawyer

In my experience it would be odd for a student to look at notes during an in person interview. 

When I was a student, it was common for students to have notes about each firm/interviewer that they referred to while moving from firm-to-firm or during breaks in their interview schedule. 

Mr_Boogie
  • Law Student

I brought a notebook to my in-person and online interview with the questions I intended on asking them and took notes as they answered. I would say it is not an issue since I got a call back for an interview to that firm within an hour of my interview.

t3ctonics
  • Lawyer

I recommend taking a notebook or pad of paper to jot down a few notes during an interview, but I agree with @BlockedQuebecois that it would be strange for an applicant to be looking at notes during an interview, at least for more than a quick glance. You don't want it to be a distraction. 

For some interviews I have brought a notepad with a few points to ask about written down in brief. For the articling recruit I think my notes looked something like this:

• How is work assigned?
  • How is performance assessed?
  • What does the firm do for mentorship, talent development, education, etc.?
  • Any opportunities for client contact?

That said, I asked every firm the same questions, and I don't think I needed these written down at all. I guess it was kind of a safety blanket in case my mind went blank, but that didn't happen.