Environment of profs and culture at uOttawa

Lawapplicant1233

Lawapplicant1233
  • Applicant

Could someone who currently goes to uOttawa tell me about the way that profs are accessible and are open to help and mentor during your time at uOttawa? Additionally, I was wondering what the culture is like among students, like is it cut-throat or…? 

• Like 1

capitalttruth
  • Articling Student

In my experience, most profs are nice. Some aren't necessarily built to provide mentorship, and are better off as researchers, but that's not specific to uOttawa. I would say these profs are in the minority, though. As for the student environment, we are a large school, and I find that people have to form clicks in order to digest the experience of being among 300 people. A lot of is very high school-ish, but I'm an older student so my perspective is influenced by that. The environment is not competitive per se, people are there to support you. Most people I've met are willing to share notes, talk to you if you don't understand something etc. Ultimately, though, I think it's important to learn early on that law school students are your colleagues, and not necessarily your friends. Of course you can make long-lasting friendships in law school, and many do, but it's important to remember that not everyone is your friend.

• Like 2

goodisgood
  • Law Student

2L here. Every prof I've wanted to speak to (all of them) has been accessible. Some online, some in person, some both. For the moot, we've had to reach out to professors that none of us actually took courses with and they were all gracious in clarifying questions we had about our research. When I've needed reference letters, I reached out to the professors I naturally connected with and they were super willing to help on multiple occasions. 

Student-culture wise there are definitely some groupings but no one is rude. I've swapped notes with people and done group exam study sessions too. It is not cut-throat. 

• Like 1