Reference Letter

LawstudentinCanada

LawstudentinCanada

So I am a graduated student and I am going to be using a reference from a professor who is a visiting prof at my university and isn't a permanent position. If he was to write my reference - does that come off as invaluable ? He taught a fourth year seminar class in which I scored really well. 

Please let me know! 

Thank you 

Thrive92
  • Applicant

Invaluable means something that is beyond value, so no. I think the value is one academic reference letter.

I think you should be fine, despite the fact that he is not a tenured professor; as long as he has taught you in university, I think that would mean that he knows you in an academic setting. You should be good.

• Like 1

LawstudentinCanada
2 hours ago, Thrive92 said:

Invaluable means something that is beyond value, so no. I think the value is one academic reference letter.

I think you should be fine, despite the fact that he is not a tenured professor; as long as he has taught you in university, I think that would mean that he knows you in an academic setting. You should be good.

Sorry * I meant that it was not valuable.  

okay wonderful would this put me in a disadvantage compared to other applicants? 

RIP-Joel
  • Law Student

I haven't applied yet but I get the feeling from other people that LOR's don't actually make that much of a difference (its pretty much just LSAT, GPA, and PS but even some will say that the PS isn't as important as the LSAT or GPA). As long as the letter doesn't say something along the lines "@LawstudentinCanada is a piece of shit that contributed literally 0 to the class", you should be fine. 

• LOL 1

LawstudentinCanada
2 minutes ago, luckycharm said:

My TA wrote one of my LOR.

and did you get accepted! Thank you this helps!!

may I ask who was the other reference? Was it a tenured Professor  or someone very well established?

23 minutes ago, MA1199 said: