Law school recruiting grades and being a 1L

Legally_Chase

Legally_Chase
  • Law School Admit

Hi everyone! I have a couple questions about the importance of undergraduate grades for 1L/2L recruitment and workload as a 1L.

1. I am very lucky to get into law school given my undergraduate performance during my first couple years. I graduated with a 2.9ish CGPA (3.4ish L2). I worked hard to do well in my master's degree and the LSAT so that I can have a chance at law school. I also have have some pretty good work experience with a track record of good performance. For anyone who is informed or has personally gone through the recruitment, how will my applications be looked at with my undergraduate grades and will they impact my ability to do well (this is assuming my LS grades are competitive). 

2. How many pages of assigned reading are students expected to complete on a weekly basis during 1L? 

Thanks to everyone in advance for your advice!

lawfacade123
  • Law Student

Anecdotally, I heard that undergrad transcripts were mostly just to get insight into your background and what kind of courses you took. Who knows though, it could depend on who's looking at your application.

• Like 1

Renerik
  • Law Student

Re: question 2

Professors will assign ~10-50 pages of reading per class for approximately 100-300 pages of readings per week.

• Like 1

cactusjack6
  • Law Student
4 hours ago, Legally_Chase said:

Hi everyone! I have a couple questions about the importance of undergraduate grades for 1L/2L recruitment and workload as a 1L.