CGPA 3.79 LSAT 160 (should I retake?)

ptarmigan

ptarmigan
  • Applicant

Hi everyone, 

I recently got back my LSAT score from my first time taking it in April, and I got a 160. I feel pretty satisfied with the score, not looking to be the top applicant but hoping to get into schools, in particular Dal, U of T, UVic, UBC (I know this one is unlikely) and Queens. CGPA for OLSAS is 3.79, and B2/L2 is 3.96 and L3/B3 is 3.90. On a 4.33 scale, which my undergrad university used, my CGPA is 3.93. None of this includes my grades from exchange during undergrad (although that was winter 2020 so I understand a lot of schools might disregard those) or from my masters degree, does anyone know how those are assessed as well? 

Other than those numbers, I have a master's degree and publications associated with my research, as well as relevant work experiences gained throughout my studies (I have studied environmental sciences and hope to do environmental law one day). I don't have friends/family who know about law school and admissions, so I thought I would ask here! Should I try this application cycle and see what sticks, or should I retake the LSAT in September to try to boost my score? 

Thanks! 

GuiltyMind88
  • Applicant

To venture a guess i'd say UofT, UVic and UBC you're more than likely getting R's. There's some interesting aspects to your application that maybe will pull things in your favour a bit but your LSAT just isnt competitive for those 3 schools and LSAT/GPA are king. I would say you've got a good shot at Dal and Queens though. 

If you'd be happy with A's from either Dal or Queens and aren't dead set on the other 3 then i'd say go ahead and apply for the upcoming cycle. If you've been PT'ing in the mid 160's or think you can get there with some more prep and retake then i'd say try a retake at the end of the summer. With a mid-160's score you'd put yourself in good position for all 5 schools.

Hope that helps a bit,

Cheers

twopercentmilks