Which is the better option? Windsor (no scholarship), or a top 50 US school (full ride).

SaulBadman

SaulBadman
  • Applicant

I'm a Canadian student who's facing a tough decision. I've been accepted to a lower-ranked Canadian law school without a scholarship, but I've also received a full ride scholarship to a top 50 law school in the United States. If I decide to come back to Canada to work, I'm curious about how having an American degree would measure up against Canadian degrees. Would it still give me decent job prospects here? And what about the salary? How much could I expect to earn as a lawyer in the US right after graduating compared to what I could earn in Canada? Ultimately, I want to know which degree would be more financially rewarding for me. These are the things that are keeping me up at night, and any insights or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

Whist
  • Law Student

If you want to practice in Canada, Windsor is the better choice without question. If you want to practice in the US, the US school is the better choice. A T50 is probably going to be treated like most foreign non-Ivey/non Oxbridge schools in Canada, so I wouldn't go there with the intention to come back. I have no idea what your prospects would be in the US since I don't know which American school it is and I'm not sure what you hope to practice generally. 

Windsor (single) is a fine program, but if that's the only Canadian one you got into, I'm a little concerned about the prospects of the T50 you got accepted at. 

Edited by Whist
  • Like 2

Yogurt Baron

Usual disclaimer, since you're new: I'm the board mascot, not a lawyer, and I know nothing.