2L Recruit: Do I actually need to "coffee chat" 25 different people in the next month?

Dnian

Dnian
  • Law Student

I will preface this by saying I am a strong student with an overall average in the top 10% of my class at Oz. Also have some decently strong extracurriculars.

However, I have to admit that how hard I have been focusing on my grades has made my pre-recruit networking a little lacklustre - you have to give and take. I only have actually talked to a handful of people at a few firms. 

Despite my qualifications, will whoever is reading my application really hold it against me if I don't namedrop having talked to someone who works there in the first paragraph of my cover letter? I don't hate coffee chats and networking, but I also am working 9-5 outside of the city this summer... trying to find a way to talk to 20-30 different people at all of the firms I'm going to apply to sounds near impossible, especially on top of my workload. 

So, is it borderline disqualifying not to have "connected" with anyone? A lot of folks in the law school bubble make it seem like it is. I wanted to solicit some honest answers and see if that's true. 

Anyone have insight? Thanks 😅

For generic Canadian BL jobs: No.

For some specific boutiques where they want to see if you're actually interested in the work: Yes.

For NY BL: Yes.

Also it's like a ten minute call per firm, how do you not have time?

• Like 1

Dnian
  • Law Student
1 minute ago, helloall said:

For generic Canadian BL jobs: No.

For some specific boutiques where they want to see if you're actually interested in the work: Yes.

For NY BL: Yes.

Also it's like a ten minute call per firm, how do you not have time?

If it really is just a ten minute zoom or phone call per firm, then that makes things a lot easier. Maybe I am taking "coffee chat" a little too literally, lol.