Advice for this situation

CapricornAKG

CapricornAKG
  • Law Student

So I am a recent graduate of UOFT and yesterday got an offer for an articling postion in Ottawa but it pays 35K yearly. I'm not sure if I should accept as I am awaiting another position to hear back from and need to make my decision soon but I am worried I may not get it or find something else. I also signed up with the LPP as a side as well.

Diplock
  • Lawyer

If you are still trying to find articles after you've already graduated you are a full year past the point where you were reasonably hoping for the pick of desirable positions. I say that with no judgment, it's just the truth. I don't know what you're hoping to hear back about that you believe will be substantially better than what you've been offered in Ottawa, but you haven't offered details. I can suggest it would be very unlikely to be one of those corporate gigs that pays you $80k for the year. If you want to offer details we can compare and contrast, but what's most important is that you recognize your position clearly. You're looking for whatever you can get, at this point.

In terms of the LPP, I'm confused by your question. Are you really asking whether it's better to get paid for your articles or to pay for an experience where you pretend to do real work?

I think the vagueness of your choices here may be part of the problem. You've had someone offer you a job. That's good. It isn't everything you would like. That's disappointing. Now try comparing the job you've been offered to your other options at this time, rather than comparing it to your disappointed hopes and expectations. That'll make things a lot clearer.

Good luck.

• Like 4

Ribbons
  • Law Student