No articling one year after graduation.

nkg

Hi everyone! 

This is my first post here. I have been a follower of this website since lawstudents.ca, and I am grateful for the information you contributed to both websites, as I have greatly benefited from it throughout my law school experience.

My current situation is a little bit awkward as I mentioned in the title line. I was admitted to a law school in west Canada in 2019 and finished my law degree last year, but I have not been able to secure an articling position since then. I am a pretty average B student in terms of grades, but I do not have much extracurricular experience.  One thing differentiates me from my peers is that I am kind of new comer to Canada as I immigrated here in 2019 and started my law school then. By the way, I'm not a native speaker of English.

I applied to a variety of law firms last year, but did not receive any good news. Later I had some family issues and I went back to my home country.  Recently, I came back and started my job hunting.