USask, UBC, UVictoria, U of T and Dalhousie

Donut2001

Donut2001
  • Undergrad

Hello everyone!

I am a pre-law student entering my final year of undergrad in Saskatchewan (Regina). I am applying to schools this Fall 2023 and I am trying to gain a better understanding of which school might be right for me. I am mostly interested in Indigenous related matters (Indigenous law and policy) as well as constitutional law, etc. I would have to move for school regardless but obviously a move to Saskatoon would be less of a move than a move to Nova Scotia. I am not adamant on staying/living in Saskatchewan forever, however I am trying to think long term about what is really important to me: working in the area I am passionate about (Indigenous issues), making a good salary, and being able to live comfortably with a family (I absolutely want to afford a home eventually once I am working) and I want to make sure I have  career opportunities that both give a good salary but facilitate work/life balance (to the extent it can with law). I should note: It is also not only myself moving but my partner as well as my cat. 

My stats are: about a 92%-93% average (UGPA with the last two years roughly the same or just higher)  and I am writing my LSAT in August/September (with Practice Exams hovering around a 165). Strong softs (lots of relevant volunteer experience, highly involved on campus, and good letters of rec).

My top school choices are: UBC, UVictoria, U of T, and Dalhousie. However, I have had some doubts lately since everyone says its better to stay where you are, go to school in the province you (might) want to work in - So should I just stay in Saskatchewan?