University of Alberta & Indigenous Law

Donut2001

Donut2001
  • Undergrad

Hello everyone!

I am a pre-law student entering my final year of undergrad in Saskatchewan (Regina). I am applying to schools this Fall 2023 and I am trying to gain a better understanding of which school might be right for me. I am mostly interested in Indigenous related matters (Indigenous law and policy) as well as constitutional law, etc. I am very interested in the U of A since it is a great school and closer to me than most others. I am wondering if someone (who has taken a similar path to what I am wanting to pursue) could shed some light on their experience for me? I do have some specific questions:

1. Did you find that you were truly able to gain a good understanding of Indigenous law at this institution and were there a lot of experiences/opportunities to explore this area of law? it is my passion area so this is very important to me. 

2. Was it hard to get good internships (experience wise and financially)?

3. What is the job market like after graduation? I know that I do not want to work in 'big law' but rather in Indigenous law (constitutional law) focusing on land claims, treaty rights, etc. 

Thank you so much for all the help it is so appreciated! 

Ribbons
  • Law Student

Hey!

That is so exciting that you are considering UofA for law school. It is a great school especially for Indigenous law and Constitutional law! I am someone who is also passionate about both these areas of law so I can speak to my experience a bit. I will preface this by saying I am not Indigenous but if you would like to connect to Indigenous students at UofA shoot me a message and I will connect you to some great people.