OLSAS GPA: 2.7, LSAT: 155

HopefulLaw

HopefulLaw
  • Applicant

This is my 2nd application cycle and I was rejected. I understand that CGPA is an important part of the application and that mine is low. Just wanted some advice about if there is anything that I can do to improve my chances. 

- Currently I am studying to take the September LSAT and I am scoring around 160. Although the higher the better given my low GPA, I am considering writing it later in the fall as well if I can get a score above 160. 

Education:

- Undegrad: BSc and MSc in Environmental Sciences

CV: I have many volunteer experiences in hospitals/science research/social impact. I have work experience in a few policy analyst positions in the Gov of Canada, but nothing law related - more related to science literature and public health.

I am really hoping that a higher LSAT score helps my application, but I am scared that my CGPA is just too low, no matter how high of an LSAT score I get. I would greatly appreciate any advice about what I can emphasize in my personal statement to demonstrate that I would be a successful law student. Thank you in Advance. 

HopefulLaw
  • Applicant

L2: 3.39

B2: 3.39 

although i took 6 years to complete my undergrad as I took a semester off, and I also repeated some classes that I didn't pass in my first year. So I didn't do a traditional 4 years. 

Roflskate
  • Law Student

Literally made an account here just to reply to you. I had a very similar OLSAS CGPA at 2.9 (undiagnosed ADHD and mental health crisis in my L2 so those were like a 2.6 and 3.5 for my B2) and a 162 on my LSAT. I have similar work experiences with some additional volunteering at a pro bono legal association in my city.

I only applied to two Ontario law schools, Ottawa and Windsor, and was directly accepted into both. Overall, I got into 3/4 of the schools I applied to (annoyingly, my undergrad alma mater was the only school I was rejected from).