Interview with Stikeman Elliott Toronto articling student and former Ottawa Law Review Editor-in-Chief

LegalTale

LegalTale
  • Articling Student

Hi everyone, this is George from Legal Tale where I post weekly written interviews with successful law students, lawyers, and legal professionals. Here is my interview with Matthew Tai, who is currently an articling student at Stikeman Elliott LLP in Toronto, and the former Editor-in-Chief of the Ottawa Law Review

Matthew shares his journey through law school, including his experience at the Ottawa Law Review, how he navigated the OCI process, and his advice for future law students. 

Hello! Please introduce yourself.

My name is Matthew Tai. I am an incoming articling student at Stikeman Elliott LLP in Toronto with an interest in corporate, competition, and foreign investment law. Prior to law, I had experience working in the private, public, and non-profit sectors in public affairs and government relations.

I studied at Western University and Tsinghua University in Beijing, China, before receiving my Juris Doctor from the University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law, where I graduated with the Common Law Section Dean’s Award.

While at law school, I served as the Volume 54 Editor-in-Chief of the Ottawa Law Review. I also had the privilege of representing uOttawa in London, UK, at the Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot, where I was awarded Honourable Mention Advocate (5th out of 235 oralists) and came in 5th place as a team (out of 72 global round teams and 120+ teams overall).

Outside of work and when I’m not on uncle duty to my two adorable nieces, I’m active in Canadian politics and enjoy playing the piano or spending my time planning my next trip abroad.

What made you want to become a lawyer?