CHANCE ME

5abi

5abi
  • Applicant

Hey all, I'm an older student who would be 40 by the time of start 2024. I've been upgrading to Athabasca and have acheived a 4.0 in my last 8 classes bringing my L20 upto 3.6x. My Cgpa is terribad, something like 2.2x.

How would I have to perform on the LSAT to get in first round?

I have 10 years of work experience as an engineer for a major oil producer and then another 5 years as an Economist. I have 2 kids, and I am part of a group focused on turning around restaurants.

Thanks all

• Like 2

Teejah
  • Law School Admit

It's possible. I'm a fellow old-timer with a lot of work experience. I got in this cycle with a high L20 (3.99), a terribad cGPA (2.68) and a decent LSAT (168).

That said I got in late off the waitlist. But I got into every other school in Western Canada without being waitlisted.

Study hard for the LSAT. That will be the difference maker. A strong PS could also make a world of difference. Lastly, don't give up if you don't make it in on your first cycle applying. You've waited this long one more year is nothing, and I've heard showing persistence pays off.

• Like 1

5abi
  • Applicant

Thanks Teejah,

Thanks for the reply. I calc'd my L20 and its 3.62. I was planning on upgrading for another year but they now look at graduate level courses which saves me a whole year, as long as I get in.

Anyways, if I take one more class I can bump that L20 upto 3.65, do you think its worth it?

Also, I'm writing the Nov. 11 LSAT, any tips I start studying on Tuesday.

Teejah
  • Law School Admit
On 8/18/2023 at 9:18 AM, 5abi said:

Thanks Teejah,

Thanks for the reply. I calc'd my L20 and its 3.62. I was planning on upgrading for another year but they now look at graduate level courses which saves me a whole year, as long as I get in.

Anyways, if I take one more class I can bump that L20 upto 3.65, do you think its worth it?