Articling position withdrawn / Articling salaries / Next steps

OhPlease

OhPlease
  • Lawyer

Hi there!

I'm an internationally trained lawyer who has recently moved to Canada and completed the NCA requirements. I work for a renowned multinational company that I wasn't planning on leaving anytime soon, as I really enjoy working there, and I see they value what I bring to the table. I don't have an excellent salary ($130k yearly + 20% bonus + lots of benefits such as stock options, 150-200% match RRSP, great insurance, etc.), but I'm on my way to improving it, I have much room to grown and an outstanding work-life balance.

The problem is, at the time of the job offer, the company promised me the articling position when I was ready to start it, and now that I am, the lawyer who was supposed to be my principal backed down. This is unrelated to me; the person doesn't even know me. They don't do articling there; they were doing it as a "courtesy", and because of politics, my department doesn't want to get into this fight with the Legal Department.

I'm highly disappointed for several reasons and can barely believe in a situation like this; however, I prefer do not get into it, as the purpose of my post is to ask for opinions about my possible next steps. I never even looked for an articling position, as I had one guaranteed. Now, I lost all the formal process deadlines, and my licensing process will be delayed by at least one year.

I can request the LSO for Abridgement, but as I'm from a Civil Law jurisdiction, I will still have to fulfill 1-2 months of articling.

In addition to that it concerns me the possibility of leaving a good permament job at a great company (in the legal field - although I don't need to be licensed for that) for an articling position that will pay less than my current earnings (as far as I know) with the possibility of not being hired back at the end.

What would you do if you were on my shoes?