Academic references

The Law

I am a good student. A or A- in every class through 3 years, but I have established 0 connections with professors. Is this important for me to do in my final year? How would I go about doing this? I don't really need help with my classes, so what would I even talk about with a professor who is waiting to talk to other students who do have questions?

Just now, The Law said:

I am a good student. A or A- in every class through 3 years, but I have established 0 connections with professors. Is this important for me to do in my final year? How would I go about doing this? I don't really need help with my classes, so what would I even talk about with a professor who is waiting to talk to other students who do have questions?

This is in undergrad, wanting to know if references are important for my law school application

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

Super common to not really have an established relationship with a professor when asking for an academic reference. Most still feel good about helping out.

• Thanks 1

tobi
  • Law School Admit

What I did was go to office hours. For example, even if I didn't need help on a paper/final exam, I'd go to the office hours just to chat about it and ask for further advice because they'd be the one grading it. I'd ask about what to avoid or what to focus on more. I'd ask if I'm going about the paper the right way and then I'd feel more confident about writing the paper and then I'd also get to connect with them.

Asking for feedback about your graded papers/assignments would be good too. Ask where you can improve. Ask what you should look out for/what you should do if you were to pursue this line of research for a Master's degree/further education - this kind of plants the idea in their head that this is your plan after university.