I need advice

MitchyMarns

MitchyMarns
  • Applicant

So unfortunately here’s my story. 

I graduated this past year with a cgpa of 3.51, and a L2 of 3.84. I had all A grades in my final 3 years, minus 3 B+, so a L3 of a 3.80 as well. iv been practicing for the last for almost 3 months. my PT ranged from 160-166, with my lowest being a 160, a couple months ago. I wrote the november Lsat and scored a 136… My father was diagnosed with cancer the night before my lsat. obviously panicked set in, and i underperformed. After Discussing this with my father and mother, they convinced me to write it as their was nothing wrong with trying, so i agreed. I felt somewhat confident, however the stress of the diagnosis lingered into test and i received the score of a 136. I hadn’t purchased the Preview as i didn’t think i would need it, i guess in hindsight thats what i should have done. Anyways, i decided its best, to go get my masters as my masters was something iv always wanted to obtain. I understand masters degrees aren’t considered in the admission process, rather then a “soft” which is fine, as i believe i have pretty steady grades otherwise. I’m going to take the next year to study for the lsat, to obviously get in the 160s, however i am scared shitless that no matter what i score, admissions will see a 136 and say fuck no. I need advice, other then studying for the lsat, is anything else i could do to bolster my application. I have pretty good soft factors (full time job in university, 2 fulltime jobs during my last couple years as covid caused a disturbance for myself financially, i have volunteering experience, along with working at a law firm currently). any advice is helpful

Renerik
  • Law Student
11 minutes ago, MitchyMarns said:

however i am scared shitless that no matter what i score, admissions will see a 136 and say fuck no.