Anyone with experience/knowledge of how admissions treats an upward trend GPA?

Law9729

Law9729
  • Applicant

Im a 4th year undergrad student at UBC who is thinking about applying to law school while a graduate student next year. I'm not going to even worry about my chances until I complete the LSAT, but my GPA is somewhat strange. I was very immature coming out of high school. Just not serious about my academics + took a while to adjust.

First year: 3.15ish

Second year: 3.65ish

Third year: 4.0

Fourth year (projected): 3.8ish

My cGPA will fall well below the median of accepted applicants (around 3.65). Will law schools be lenient towards my poor GPA (relative to other candidates) given the improvement? 

Bonus question: Is being a masters student at the time of application good for a holistic profile? All I know is they don't care about your grades in grad school but Im wondering if admissions would even consider it a positive.

Edited by Law9729

Excited0L
  • Applicant

Depends a lot on the schools you will be applying to. If you could reply back with the schools you are interested in I can give you a lot more insight and answer the specific questions in relation to the schools you are applying to. 

In general:

Some schools look at CGPA while others look at L2 or B2 or B3 or even B20 for your grades.

Based on your CGPA it actually isn't as bad as you think. Sure some schools it might be a bit of a problem but a good lsat will easily compensate. And for schools with B2/L2 or even B3 you have solid stats. 

1 hour ago, Excited0L said:

Depends a lot on the schools you will be applying to. If you could reply back with the schools you are interested in I can give you a lot more insight and answer the specific questions in relation to the schools you are applying to. 

In general:

Some schools look at CGPA while others look at L2 or B2 or B3 or even B20 for your grades.