Thinking about quitting articling.

rooster

rooster
  • Articling Student

Hi all. I'm an articling student about halfway through my placement. My articling experience has been terrible solely due to my principal, who has displayed very toxic behaviour throughout my placement. Examples of such behaviour include insulting me if I approach with questions (e.g. "what'd they teach you in law school?" or "this isn't law school office hours"), blowing up over small things (e.g. yelling the F-word when I made a small mistake that was easily fixable), making very inappropriate remarks about minority groups (e.g. "I don't understand the whole trans thing with this new generation"), and the list goes on... 

Suffice it to say, my mental health has been suffering and I've had enough. I'm looking to quit my current placement and finish my articles at a different firm. My question is, how difficult is it to secure a new position? Would this decision to leave my current placement prematurely be detrimental to my career? Would prospective firms view my decision in a negative way?

Appreciate any and all input. 

Hi Rooster, really saddening to hear that this has been your experience. No place should be like that - let alone a principal. Mentorship is critical in the early stages of your work. 

With respect to will leaving look negative or detrimentally impact your career, my view is that it won't. You're at the very beginning of your career and so there's not really much reputation that could be harmed by deciding to leave. So, if that's your primary concern, I don't think that's a reason to worry. You'll be just fine in the legal profession if you're hard working and capable of learning.