Queens vs. UOttawa

JurisJoy11

JurisJoy11
  • Applicant

Hey everyone! 

I'm having difficulty deciding where to go between these 2 schools. I'm currently in my 4th year of health sciences at Western and absolutely love it here (just don't want to spend 7 years in one place). I'm not exactly sure what area of law I want to practice, but I have an interest in health law or criminal law. 

I think the most deciding factor for me will be the overall culture/vibe of the two schools. Having close friends at school is super important to me but I can be a bit shy when I'm nervous (as most people are lmao) so a school that fosters friendships and connections is really important to me. Also, having the ability to go out frequently is something else that's important in my decision. I'm not looking to become a total hermit during 1L - I still want to have a social life, you know, within reason.

I have to admit, I'm leaning towards Queens at the moment. There's just something about it that feels right (maybe that's because I like Western so much and they're so similar). But there's still that nagging concern about the population size in Kingston. Coming London in my undergrad, I worry it might feel a bit claustrophobic or lacking opportunities compared to a bigger city like Ottawa. On the other hand, I've heard such great things about Ottawa being a fun city with lots to do. It's making the decision even more difficulty because I really can't decide between the two. 

So, if there are any current students from either Queens or Ottawa reading this, I'd really appreciate your advice. What's the campus culture like? How's the social scene? Any insights you could share would be incredibly helpful!

Toast Viking
  • Law Student