1L Summer Job Questions - good idea to work outside of Canada?

Rigel

Rigel
  • Applicant

Hello! I'm a first-year student and intend to participate in the Toronto 2L recruitment. Right now I'm starting cold emailing some small firms to inquire whether they could offer any 1L internship opportunity. I definitely want to stay in Canada during summer. However, understand that 1L law-related jobs are usually very limited, is it a good idea to work in a Biglaw firm outside of Canada? I'm an international student so I might have a good chance to work in a Magic Circle firm in Shanghai or even Singapore. I know law is largely a jurisdictional matter. Will I be worse off if I work in Biglaw firm outside of CA but not a small local firm here? 

I'm thinking that Biglaw experience outside of CA might still give me some transferrable skills. I probably won't have any chance to work on corporate M&A matters at a local small firm.

On the other side, I do have concerns about how employers will treat this experience during the 2L recruitment. Will it leave them with an impression that I'm not committed to working in Canada?

Those are my thoughts and I really would like to hear your input! Thx!

I don't think working for a foreign firm would harm your chances in the recruit. Though it is a somewhat unique situation so I can't say for sure how each firm will interpret it. Part of this uncertainty is because I don't know exactly what firms you mean. Obviously if you can AM100 firm, no one is going to take it as a bad thing (though it may raise questions about flight risk). But if it is a big firm in Singapore that folks here might not know, that'd be less helpful.