Should I change my June exam for the one in August?

bettercoleslaw

bettercoleslaw
  • Applicant

I plan on applying to law schools this fall/early next year, to start the degree next fall. I signed up for the June LSAT because my concern was that I might not get the score I want in August, which would really only leave me with the November test to reroll the dice. But I’ve also just barely started studying and due to school I probably won’t be very serious about it until late April; June is also the last LSAT with logic games.

I’m pretty new to all this so I’d appreciate the guidance. I have a math background but the LG has so far been the hardest section for me, while the readings have been OK.

I mean, gauge it by how much progress you're making. I was ok with a couple of months of practice. You might be too. 

Or you might need a lot more time to bring your score up. Point is, take a little to see where you're at and how much improvement you need then make a choice. 

scooter
  • Law Student
1 hour ago, bettercoleslaw said:

I have a math background but the LG has so far been the hardest section for me, while the readings have been OK.

My experience was that LG was my worst section on my diagnostic, but it was also the easiest section to improve. I think this is probably the case for a lot of people. I wouldn't write them off until you sit down and learn to draw the diagrams for different types of games. With practice you see that almost all of the the games fall into a few different categories, and at least 2 out of the 4 games will be extremely simple once you learn to draw useful diagrams.

But if LR ends up being your strongest section, they are replacing the games with more LR

chaboywb
  • Lawyer