CFA + JD Combination

lawblawz

lawblawz
  • Law School Admit

I'm in a unique spot as I prepare for law school in the fall where I have a lot of the knowledge needed for the CFA, and am considering signing up to write L1 this summer.

There are two reasons I would like to sign up:

• I genuinely really enjoy learning about Finance, and would rather bolster my skills and certifications while the knowledge is fresh in my head.
  • I've had a lot of interest in working in Securities or M&A Law, or within Legal at a bank. I'm hoping that this would set me up to learn quicker and succeed in that type of financial law industry. I also believe that certain law jobs of this line can qualify as the work experience necessary to gain a CFA certification.

I guess my real question ends up being if it is worth pursuing this program to help with my career (I am aware that it is a LOT of work, and I have watched others go through the many hours spent preparing), or if this would be a waste of time that could be spent doing other things. Otherwise, I was wondering if there were any other certifications, courses, or anything that would be worth pursuing while I have fresh finance knowledge that could help me both in my career down the line, and potentially within recruiting while I'm in law school.

I'm curious if anyone here has had experience with (or knowing others with) this combination, and could share their experience or opinions.

Edited by lawblawz
context of my knowledge of the subject before people respond

canuckfanatic
  • Lawyer
47 minutes ago, lawblawz said:

I guess my real question ends up being if it is worth pursuing this program to help with my career (I am aware that it is a LOT of work, and I have watched others go through the many hours spent preparing), or if this would be a waste of time that could be spent doing other things.