Advice?

justsurviving

justsurviving
  • Law Student

Hi everyone! Just wondering if someone can give me their input on how to get into a union-side labour law firm in the 2L recruit. For context, I have a business degree and I mostly have TA and social media planning experience. I'll be working at a legal aid clinic this summer in the criminal law department. 

I have always wanted to work in an union-side labour law firm because I feel that it works best with my interest and values but I'm scared that I don't have the right experience for it. Does anyone have any advice? What do these firms look for? 

Please let me know! Thank you! 

• Like 1

Bob Jones
  • Lawyer
On 3/9/2024 at 6:07 PM, justsurviving said:

Hi everyone! Just wondering if someone can give me their input on how to get into a union-side labour law firm in the 2L recruit. For context, I have a business degree and I mostly have TA and social media planning experience. I'll be working at a legal aid clinic this summer in the criminal law department. 

I have always wanted to work in an union-side labour law firm because I feel that it works best with my interest and values but I'm scared that I don't have the right experience for it. Does anyone have any advice? What do these firms look for? 

Please let me know! Thank you! 

Just apply for whatever you can L&E-related, and do the best you can. Worst case they say no, and you move on. Trust me, it feels like a big deal now, but in the grand scheme you will quickly forget about 2L summer job search anxieties. 

If you apply broadly enough, I'm sure you'll land a decent gig. But any experience at this stage is what is key.

justsurviving
  • Law Student

Thank you. I needed to hear this more than you know. 

14 hours ago, Bob Jones said: