poor first semester performance + struck out at 1L recruit. What now? How screwed am I?

concernedut

concernedut
  • Law Student

Hi everyone, I'm a 1L UofT student and I have so far received straight P's in my classes (and even an LP on an assignment). I also messed up the recruit and haven't found any summer gigs either. I'm becoming increasingly concerned about my ability to find a good job in the 2L recruit, and even after I graduate. I've done all the readings, created notes and outlines from them, attended the vast majority of my classes, gone to office hours and even reviewed all returned assignments/exams. 

Yet it's as though something isn't clicking. Every assignment or exam I do small things I didn't foresee being an issue, or like 1 or 2 legal issues that I glazed over always end up tanking my grades. Or one misphrasal of a legal doctrine, or a improperly done citation. In a few classes my profs have openly told me that I was close to H, but someone had to get a P, and it just happened to be me. 

It's not as though I'm new to dense reading or writing either. My major was in a comparatively difficult and writing-heavy program at one of Canada's best schools. My GPA and LSAT were both well above the median for incoming 1Ls this year. So I'm confused as to why I feel near-incapacitated at discovering a means to break the P/H barrier. 

So my questions are this. 1: Just how bad will this first semester look on my resume all else equal? I know it's pretty damn bad and I've shut the door at many places by now, but the scope of the severity is something I've been unable to find any statistics/discussion on other than this UV article here. 2: What advice do people have for getting my grades up? I seriously feel like there's some meta-strategy about law school generally I'm missing. 3:  Anyone willing to share personal anecdotes/stories from navigating the recruit with comparatively poor grades or significantly improving their grades from first year onwards.