Advice for LSATs

jessicapearsonlol

jessicapearsonlol
  • Undergrad

Hi, im in my first year of undergrad and don't know where to start with LSAT prep and would appreciate any general advice thank you. Ik its super early i just get very paranoid...

StoneMason
  • Law Student

You should visit the LSAT subreddit. It has great resources in the sidebar that you can start with!

Also note that while the subreddit is great for general information and planning, the loudest voices on there make it seem like everyone is walking around with a 175 after 2 months of prep. Don't fall for that trap - everyone has their own pace. 

Edited by StoneMason
  • Like 1

GoatDuck
  • Law Student

Yes it is very early, and instead of indulging your paranoia and spiraling down that hole you should acknowledge the feeling and prioritize your undergrad academics instead. Or prioritize having good experiences and becoming a fun person to be around.

If you have aptitude for law school, then you will be fine if you start prepping in your last year of undergrad. But if you don’t aptitude for law school, then prepping for the lsat in year one of undergrad won’t ultimately change things. So might as well forget about the LSAT until you’re at least in your third year. 

• Like 2

Dinsdale
  • Lawyer

Also, it's an aptitude test.  Prep can help on the margins, but it's highly overrated.  Obviously it's good to do basic prep such as knowing the format of the questions you will be asked. After doing that basic familiarization, try a practice test if you're curious.  See how you do.  If you do great, proceed to actually writing the LSAT at a convenient time.  If you do not so great, then consider some formal prep.  You have oodles of time.

• Like 1

StoneMason
  • Law Student
On 4/30/2024 at 10:16 AM, Dinsdale said:

Prep can help on the margins, but it's highly overrated.