Obtaining a full-ride scholarship from a US school

dillhim

dillhim
  • Applicant

Hello! I just graduated with a 3.7CGPA (3.9 in final two years) and will complete my LSAT in the upcoming months. My interests are in international law, human rights, child law, and family law. However, I am still open to working in adjacent fields as I'm not fully committed to being a lawyer. However, I recognize the value of obtaining a JD, and in my case, I graduated with little to no debt thanks to grants and the extra money I saved up during COVID. My undergrad is useful, but I definitely want to explore new career paths, and I find that it restricts my capability to enter a new field that offers suitable wages for people without experience. 

The Canadian schools I narrowed down are U of T, Osgoode, UBC, and my home campus. With my experience and hopefully a good LSAT, I think I can get into each school, but I've heard that more US schools offer full-ride scholarships that can pay for housing and other expenses, too. My question is, how likely, with my grades, could I obtain a full ride from a good law school (work and volunteer experience is good but not eye-popping) so should I focus on my LSAT and try to win some grants and scholarships from a Canadian school and avoid the uncertainty in living in a new country for the first time? 

I heard from some people that the US has more scholarships available, but the quality of schools falls off after the top 20 programs. Obviously, not one school is for all, but I am curious to see what other people think of this.

enpassant
  • Law School Admit
Posted (edited)