Dropping Out During 1L for Federal Government Job?

TheBigShort

TheBigShort
  • Law Student

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I am currently a 1L. For background context, I have a BA in Political Science and went straight from undergrad to law school. I experienced extremely heavy pressure from my parents to be a lawyer, and this certainly influenced my decision to attend. However, I genuinely find criminal law to be intellectually appealing, and I entered law with the exclusive intention of practicing criminal (Crown or defense). In any case, I have recently been offered a full-time, indeterminate law enforcement position with a federal agency (I will not be disclosing any particulars in the interest of anonymity). Prior to law school, my initial plan was to go into law enforcement. I will have a starting salary of approximately 65K, increasing to approximately 100K within 5 years (depending on OT calculations) + federal government benefits & pension. I am hesitant to quit something that I have already started, but I am also very tempted by this opportunity for a variety of reasons. If you were in my situation, what would you do? Do any of you have experience/know someone that has been in a similar situation with a job offer at the beginning of law school?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by SuperJudo123

By your description it sounds like this is a CBSA gig. Even if it isn't the result is the same, only you can decide what you want to do long-term.

If you want to be a lawyer stay in law school.

If you want to work for the feds, but not as a lawyer, take the job. 

If you're unsure, I'd stay in school. It doesn't sound like this is a once in a life time opportunity so it may well be available to you after graduation. Honestly taking the job is probably the smarter financial move, but that shouldn't be the sole factor of consideration. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

QueensDenning
  • Articling Student