Being a lawyer as a shabbat-observant Jew?

Judge Jew-dy

Judge Jew-dy
  • Applicant

I've applied to law school but I was hoping to hear if anyone has any experience with observing religious practices as a lawyer? During Shabbat I cannot use my phone or any technology and I've heard that as a lawyer you might be working on the weekend. Furthermore, Shabbat in Canada starts early in the winter because it starts at sundown on Friday nights, which might hurt my job search because I doubt employers would like to hear that I can't work for a whole 25 hours.

If anybody has any experience with Shabbat or any religious observances as a lawyer I would greatly appreciate knowing so that I can either prepare or consider different trajectory paths from law school.

Also, sorry if this is not an appropriate question to ask, either here or on the forum entirely. I don't mean to break any rules I just thought I'd try.

• Like 1

soundofconfusion
  • Law Student

This is a very good question, one I will largely leave for other people more able than I am to answer (not a lawyer, not yet a law student, please don't put too much weight on this post). I should ask, though, and please bear with me if this is a dumb question (I'm not super observant and wasn't raised Orthodox): exactly how shomer (shomrat?) Shabbat are you personally? Do you do any analog writing? I think you will face some very real challenges, which may or may not be accommodated for depending on the employer (I would tend to think BigLaw would be out of the question, which doesn't mean you'd necessarily be locked out of the profession, though again, people with actual experience in the field can answer much better than I can), but you might(?) be able to compensate one way or another. If you are willing to do work on paper, my assumption is that could help a good bit.