What factors contribute to hire back?

LawStudent604

LawStudent604
  • Law Student

My grades have been less than stellar throughout law school and I'm in my final year so I won't be able to raise my GPA significantly. I already have an articling position but I'm now worrying about the possibility of not getting hired back and having trouble finding another job because of my low GPA.

What factors do firms consider when they're hiring back after articling? Will my grades hold me back?

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

Basically...

1) In a general sense are they the kind of firm that hires articling students with the intent for them to become associates (i.e. literally any BigLaw OCI firm), or for cheap labour to be discarded at the end of the articling term (i.e. many small firms or sole practitioners)? Government articling positions are also often bad for hireback but the articling arrangements tend not to be exploitative.

2) If they hire articling students intending to hire them back from the outset, have you performed with a minimal and basic level of competence and avoided causing them any huge problems?

Really hireback has less to do with the quality of the students and more to do with the nature of the positions and intentions of the employers.

Oh, and no employer will care about your grades after they have an articling term to judge you by.

LawStudent604
  • Law Student
8 minutes ago, CleanHands said:

Basically...

1) In a general sense are they the kind of firm that hires articling students with the intent for them to become associates (i.e. literally any BigLaw OCI firm), or for cheap labour to be discarded at the end of the articling term (i.e. many small firms or sole practitioners)? Government articling positions are also often bad for hireback but the articling arrangements tend not to be exploitative.