U of T vs. UBC

sufferingstudent

sufferingstudent
  • Applicant

Hey everyone! I appreciate all of your opinions in advance. 🙂

I'm a first gen law student so I'm really struggling with figuring out where to go without any experience in this! I was accepted to both UBC and U of T back in November/December and I still feel no closer to making a decision about which to go to, but acceptance deadlines are rapidly approaching which is frightening. 

I'm leaning towards business law, but I also have an interest in environmental/natural resources law (on a previous post I've heard that the latter isn't really great at either school, which is fine - my undergrad major was in business so business law interests me a lot). I don't have any law connections through family/friends or anything to talk to so I'm not entirely sure, but from my own research I think I'm good with entering biglaw after graduation if I can. I'll be fully funding this degree myself through savings, loans, and (hopefully) scholarships and bursaries. 

Benefits/drawbacks of U of T:

• Possibility of working in New York & closer to Bay Street during the recruitment period.
  • More prestigious and higher-ranked than UBC.
  • HUGE student loan and line of credit debt (from my calculations it will leave me with about twice the debt on my SPLOC).
  • I've never been to Toronto so I'm not sure if I want to work there, and its farther from family.

Benefits/drawbacks of UBC:

• Closer to Alberta (where I'm from) so easier to go back and forth to see family, and I could bring my car. 
  • Tuition is less than half of the price of U of T. 
  • I'm unfamiliar what the biglaw landscape looks like (is there like a "Bay Street" equivalent in Vancouver?).
  • I've only been to Vancouver once, but I know a few people who live there and love it.

Of course everyone's path is different, but I would love to hear what anyone else would choose! Or please call me out if any of my points above are dumb. Thank you! 🙂