New mom, should I go to Law School?

Lulu_spector

Lulu_spector
  • Law School Admit

Please read this until the end.  I need insight and help from this community so that I can make the most strategic decision for my life. 

I was a mature university student and graduated 2020. The goal was always law school. With a baby on the way during the pandemic I was going to give up. When baby was born I was ashamed of not having a future and a home for baby. I’m about to turn 40 years old. 

Issue: Me and my husband & baby live in my parents basement. We can’t afford a place of our own or a home with one income. I told myself that law school was a way that I could help get us forward in life. 

After birth, I studied so hard and managed to get into law school that is 1-1.5 hours away (toronto region). I am so grateful … but I’m also frightened of the reality😔 

Worries: the commute from Guelph to Toronto via car or Go will be tough and cause a lot of challenges with childcare. I don’t have help and support as I’m the main caretaker. My husband works a physical job and long hours and my parents are older with a disability.

I am worried of the true hustle this path requires. It feels impossible while being a mother. I am a passionate, determined, and focused student, but this is a different personality than being a mother — the 2 paths have different energies and behaviours and they don’t mix. As a law student, I’ll be aggressive in energy and selfish to get ahead and “win” for my family. Masculine energy to the max!  Being a mother requires slower movements, more feminine energy, a calm demeanour, and a nurturing approach to everything. Both are who I am, but the first one has to be the dominant one if I go to law school. Otherwise, what would be the point if I don’t try to be the best and network myself for the best opportunities with a $150K debt?