Child protection law

Garfield

Garfield
  • Articling Student

I am a law student interested in child protection law. I wanted to ask lawyers who practice in the area of child protection law some general questions: what your practice consists of, what you enjoy and do not enjoy about your practice, and whether practising child protection law is something you can do straight out of law school or whether you would have to practice another area of law first.

(I wish I didn't have to ask such basic questions. I would have certainly perused the older threads on lawstudents.ca first...)

• Like 2

artsydork
  • Lawyer

I'm heading into day 14 (non consecutive) and third part of a child protection trial. So I can answer these questions! All my info is relevant to Ontario, though there would be commonalities among all provinces. 

Child protection falls under the umbrella of family law. Most of us doing child protection do a mix of family litigation and child protection law. It's primarily legal aid work and many family lawyers won't touch it. There are also a decent amount of criminal lawyers with a Child Protection practice. On the other side are in-house lawyers working for the Society.

You likely won't be exposed too much to child protection law when articling, save for observing, if that. You can join the legal aid panel after your Call, but you'll need to find a mentor to sign on. And do a lot of unpaid training from Legal Aid. Any prior work in litigation and working with vulnerable clients would translate well. The Ontario Association of Child Protection Lawyers  has some Ontario superstars and great training seminars.