Is it too late for me?

KC P

Hi there, 

I just wanted your advice. I am 33, I just finished my MBA and completed my BA back in 2015. I have a full fledged insurance practice and I am making a solid income as an insurance professional. I also have a young daughter and my wife is pregnant. However, law school has always been on my mind (particularly the Dual JD program or Osgoode). Is it even possible for me to fathom this, being this late in the game? Are there any "mature" students I can connect with? Where do I even begin? 

Thank you

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

I'm your age and a recent JD grad. There were a few people our age or older in my class. So yes, it's "possible."

Whether it makes sense to do in your specific case is difficult to say without you elaborating on your objectives and priorities though.

• Like 3

mjslava
  • Applicant

I am 33 and have applied this cycle. I graduated with my BA in History and Criminology back in 2016. I have a family, two young kids, and I own a successful business. I could continue to own this and a few other businesses and live comfortably but, like you, I’ve always had an interest in becoming a lawyer and feel that it’s the right fit for me. Now that my kids are older, I now have more time and confidence to pursue a legal career. 

Almost a year ago to date is when I began studying for the LSAT. I studied for at least 3 hours a day 5/6 days a week for 9 months and wrote the January LSAT. That's how I started. I knew I had an uphill battle to overcome and worked my ass off to get a good score. I’ve spoken to a number of lawyers and law students who started “late” (30+), and none of them have had issues starting at a later age in regards to finding employment. If you look at the first year demographics, you’ll notice that 30+ year olds account for >10%. Think about it. Say you start at 37/38 years of age. You’d still have a 30-35+ year career, health providing. You’re not starting late.